Header image is too big

This forum is for feedback about the website and board,
User avatar
danieltj
New member
New member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 23, 2024 3:40 pm

Header image is too big

Post by danieltj »

On a mobile phone, the header image doesn’t scale and it forces the page to have scroll bars and can be quite hard to navigate.

The header image needs to be reduced in size for screen sizes lower than 768px generally.

I would see what change you need to make and post it here for you but… I’m on my phone so can’t! 😅
User avatar
Kailey
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 18, 2024 4:11 am

Re: Header image is too big

Post by Kailey »

Might just ditch the header on lower res devices.
User avatar
danieltj
New member
New member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 23, 2024 3:40 pm

Re: Header image is too big

Post by danieltj »

I tried to play around with it to see if I could get a quick fix but you need to make a lot of CSS changes to reorder things around. It seems as though the logo and search are pushing one another around due to floating and the menu bar is in its own element underneath making everything munch taller.

If you have a GitHub repository I could try and work further on it and create a fix to make it laid out nicely if you'd like? In any case, keeping the header would be nice though. Beats plain text!
User avatar
bonelifer
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat May 18, 2024 4:13 am
Name: William

Re: Header image is too big

Post by bonelifer »

Sitelogo is controlled by what I assume is Kailey's update of imkingdavid's old sitelogo extension. The menu is something I managed to cobble together from code from I think w3schools or the like from around phpBB 3.1.9 time era. It's not greatly integrated. It was a rush project from when I took over modders, as no one was left from the old modders team to up keep the modders bespoke module system, and I knew php move forward would eventually break it. I can get repos up later today for them. Don't feel so good right now. Was actually looking at this for a replacemnt, but it needs hamburger menu code and responsiveness added as per my two issues there. https://github.com/halferty/dropdownmenus Also will need to upload our style as Kailey didn't know about Nextgen's update.
phpBB Modders is looking for developers! If you have phpBB experience and want to join us, click here!
User avatar
danieltj
New member
New member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 23, 2024 3:40 pm

Re: Header image is too big

Post by danieltj »

No problem... let me know where and how I can help and I'll see what I can do for you. :)
User avatar
bonelifer
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat May 18, 2024 4:13 am
Name: William

Re: Header image is too big

Post by bonelifer »

Famous last words...

https://github.com/phpbbmodders/homepage
  • fix login

https://github.com/phpbbmodders/site-logo
  • add settings for mininum size before altrnate logo
  • a fallback to the sitename text for when minimum isn't set

https://github.com/phpbbmodders/revolution
  • so you can test changes with our style


FIXED https://github.com/phpbbmodders/inserticonifyscript
  • tried to get this working with chatGPT, but meh. The content of listener.php was never inserted before </body>



https://github.com/phpbbmodders/menu
  • needs better responsiveness(should handle fixed vs wide width better)
  • possibly different event?

or if you're feeling more adventurous, tackle this instead:
https://github.com/halferty/dropdownmenus
  • possibly different event?
phpBB Modders is looking for developers! If you have phpBB experience and want to join us, click here!
User avatar
danieltj
New member
New member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 23, 2024 3:40 pm

Re: Header image is too big

Post by danieltj »

I’ll have a play around tomorrow 😂
User avatar
danieltj
New member
New member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 23, 2024 3:40 pm

Re: Header image is too big

Post by danieltj »

I've tried to get the site set up locally but I'm having a bit of trouble cloning the repositories though because they are in a folder in the root so git is refusing to clone into a folder that isn't empty.

For example:

Code: Select all

https://github.com/phpbbmodders/revolution
The style files should be at the top level but they're in a folder called...

Code: Select all

https://github.com/phpbbmodders/revolution/revolution
Same goes for the menu repo and a couple others. If you could move the files to the top level so I can clone them into a folder or let me know how I can force git to clone into non-empty repos I'll come back to this for you :thumbup:
User avatar
bonelifer
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat May 18, 2024 4:13 am
Name: William

Re: Header image is too big

Post by bonelifer »

Should all be done.
phpBB Modders is looking for developers! If you have phpBB experience and want to join us, click here!
User avatar
Kailey
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 18, 2024 4:11 am

Re: Header image is too big

Post by Kailey »

I apologize for the lack of input on this topic as the house move actually took longer than expected. If anything is needed from me, let me know. Discord is best.
Post Reply